WPF - World Photography Forum
Home Gallery Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Welcome to World Photography Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to World Photography Forum, a dedicated community for photographers and enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   World Photography Forum > Photography Technique > The Digital Darkroom

The Digital Darkroom The In-Computer editing forum.

Elements 5.0 file size

Old 14-03-07, 18:26

Default Elements 5.0 file size

Hi everyone,

I'm new here so I apologise if this topic has been raised before. I am new to digital photography, having only recently been introduced to it from digiscoping birds and other wildlife. I use Elements 5.0, and have been using the quick edit facility. After being biten with the digital bug, I started to delve a bit deeper and got a copy of "the missing manual" by Barbara Brundage, which I can really recommend to anyone new to Elements. Having read about layers, and trying them for myself, I am impressed with the fact that changes can be undone later, even when the file has been closed. Here's where the problem arises. I use a Zeiss DC4 eyepiece/camera unit, which downloads jpegs roughly 2MB in size. If I use layers, I can save them in psd format with no problems. If I download shots from my 10.1MP sony camera, and edit using layers, when I save the file the organiser shows the saved file as an icon, with file too large written across it. I have searched through all the preferences files and can't find a file size allocation anywhere, except for the "save to web" setting, which is obviously for web pages, email etc. Does anyone know how I can save larger files without the error coming up?

hope someone can help, or at least point me in the right direction.